(
wickedorin Aug. 6th, 2011 09:38 pm)

The language was polite. There was nothing rude and probably nothing truly assuming about it. I just have kind of a negative knee-jerk reaction to what boils down to, "Hey, this $120 item is really neat! Care to donate something like it to the charity I'm representing?"
And that's awful because I know there's well-meaning behind it. Certainly I will take it at face value and assume the intention is good. And I won't downplay the balls it takes to do things like that. But. No.
It's not as if there's no compassion in this black, empty space where a heart may or may not have once been. I give to what's important to me: a well-researched animal charity near to my heart, a few indie game devs (those are charities, I don't care what you say), the American Cancer Society for Zellie's sake, a video game-related charity, and a toy-related charity. I probably can't technically afford to give to them, but I do. And that's it, that's where my line is drawn. My time, my effort, my money; currently I have the capability to decide what happens to all of them. I am going to attempt to keep it that way.
Again, I have no reason to think the person writing me was trying to be rude or assuming in any way and I certainly won't respond as such.
I haven't responded. I kind of have no idea what to say. I'm going to come off as an asshole no matter what.
And along those lines, let me finally tell you guys what went on at the eye doctor yesterday. For some reason the guy I'd been seeing just wasn't there. Okay, whatever, so I saw one of his associates. Fun woman, made roller coaster analogies. *grin* Basically, my eyes are healing but they're taking their sweet time about it and keep getting dry too easily (she used the term "like sandpaper", and that was not a fun mental image), so now I am to go back in two weeks (much better) and use gel drops. ...These things are really, really annoying and make my vision blur randomly between blinks for the first ten minutes or so, but hey, if it helps.
Glasses are annoying. That might just be because I haven't quite grasped the concept that they are on my face yet. I'm just keeping the stupid cleaning cloth on the desk from now on.
Beyond that I don't exactly have any complaints
Just one link for right now, because surely it's all that you need: A Tour of Retro Japanese Toy Porn. No, it's not porn-porn.