This is day 2 of resting my wrist, because damn I can't do anything today. Alternative: GAAAMES. I've been picking at Twilight Princess, and somehow this makes me want to pick at Wind Waker too. But then I already have a game of Kingdom Hearts 2 and Devil May Cry 4 going... Well, I like variety.

Long story short: water supply pipe goes boom, we had to boil water for a couple of days. Lazy assholes bitched and complained and ran out for bottled water. The end. (Of course I totally understand the need for clean water for animals, children and the elderly who cannot take care of themselves... but they weren't the people standing around, willingly, in 80+ degree heat, bitching about the equally lazy and panicked people that had come before and taken their precious water.)

And speaking of locals being weird, here's one of the stupidest stories ever. Darwin, looks like you were wrong.

Many of you know that I refer to "Happy Little Elf Link" as the scariest damn action figure ever (and he's further packed away, of course--but I will have the courage to dig him out ad get pictures some day, dammit). But these come insanely close. *shudder* BURN THEM BURN THEM.

I... really have no thoughts on the Dark Crystal sequel. I mean, I do, but... it's all mostly puzzlement. I want to hope for the best, especially after so many years of hearing it was "actually being made this year". That's about all I can say.

Seeing matte painting celebrated, even if just a little bit, makes me happy though.

So it appears that E3 has already begun, because there's a new game announcement every few seconds. Who knows--now that the Wii comes in black, maybe the next Zelda will interest me into buying one. *snort* S-E is also being its spectacularly cock-teasing self.

Linked to because I really love this entry in the "games vs art" debate that needs to fucking die already.

Oh, Kojima. That's all that needs to be said.

You whipper snappers won't know about King's Quest *grin*, and you certainly won't have heard of Phoenix Online Studios because of it, but shall we say they've been through a lot to make their not-a-King's-Quest-game into a reality. Might there finally be some hope? "As shocking as it might seem, a decade after trying to make a sequel they had no right to make, The Silver Lining team is on the precipice of the most unexpected of outcomes: Victory." (S-E, please pay attention. You know I love you baby but you're fucking stupid, sometimes.)

When Will You Reach the End of Gaming? puzzles me. I guess maybe it's that some people see gaming as a hobby, maybe even a sport. I don't. Nor do I see it as a "lifestyle"--but then I don't see anything as a "lifestyle" I suppose. Putting down the controller seems as ridiculous to me as giving up books. Music. Movies. I suppose there may come a point in time when you are blind and deaf (or riddled with so many repetitive stress injuries *cough*) and you literally can't hold a controller anymore... but that whole idea of "outgrowing games" just seems so fucking holier than thou judgmental. They are not for some people. I can understand that easily. Whether they are simply fun or incredible adventures that stick with you for years, the assumption that there must come a time when you walk away sort of creeps me out somewhat. It may happen, certainly. I just... can't fathom why it seems expected. At least Old Grandma Hardcore agrees with me. That's all I need.

We won't even get into the jackasses who make comments about action figure collecting... *grin* But then my idea of collecting is "buy what you love and take them out of the boy to play with them as intended" rather than "get everything of every series and keep them in their boxes and perfectly perfectly perfect". So maybe I am an "action figure enthusiast".

I link to this RPS post about The Humble Indie Bundle not just because of the excellent "name your own price" indie PC games, nor the fact that Child's Play is also involved, but because of the plethora of negative comments and the hilariously sharp responses. I've heard things about those PC gamer types, I have...

This makes me want to play Nier even more. Dammit. But it's still a "wait for the price to drop" game. Huh, how interesting bullshit that Prince of Persia for PS3 suddenly jumped $10+ in value at Amazon...

Kick-Ass and the Ethics of Gameplay is just bizarre. As was pointed out so many times in the comments, assuming the audience is laughing inappropriately because they see the movie as a game is just... disconnected logic. How? Why? What? But then there were times I was laughing my ass off, alone, in a crowded theater, during The Devil's Rejects.

What Not to Fear is basically about why new horror games suck. *snort* Kind of interesting, honestly.

Hateris is really what Tetris is to me.

I'm happy to see that Conan is happy. Just wish I could have grabbed tickets to one of the Boston shows.

And this is just... really interesting and frightening, both. It seems to me like madness celebrated, but who am I to say.
mystiri_1: (Default)

From: [personal profile] mystiri_1


I had to grab the gaming bundle, and only regret I didn't have more money to spare this week - as when I checked Childs Play's website, they actually list Starship Hospital, which is the only specialist children's hospital in my entire country. Thanks for the link!

And... I don't get the Kick Ass thing. I saw the ad, and assumed it was one of those stupid slapstick movies for people who find that kind of thing funny, not a 'movie for gamers'. I play video games. I'm sometimes forced to sit through America's Funniest Videos. People hurt themselves. I don't laugh. I am often horrified by what they class as funny on that show, and it's considered 'family entertainment'. My playing video games doesn't change this perception at all. And while I now know that it might be full of meaningful subtext, I still have no desire to go see that movie. At all.
.

Page Summary

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags